TidbitsJanuary 14, 2019 4:12 PM ET

1349 unveils new song

Official press release: Norwegian black metal tyrants 1349 (Ravn-vocals, Archaon-guitars, Seidemann-bass, and Frost - drums) have released the new track "Dødskamp." The piece, the first new music from the quartet since 2014's Massive Cauldron of Chaos album, is streaming now here:
Subscribe to Lambgoat on  
"Dødskamp" is part of a collection of four tracks spanning multiple genres commissioned by the Munch Museum in conjunction with Innovasjon Norge and Visit Norway. The aim is to have each musical artist give their sonic interpretation of an Evdard Munch work that they were free to select. "Dødskamp" is thus directly inspired by Munch's art piece of the same name. Regarding the new track Archaon comments, "Munch is unquestionably one of the most important Norwegian artists. His work is dark and eerie and reflects a lot of anxiety, pain, and loneliness in the way I perceive them. So it suited us perfectly." He continues, "I found this very exciting, especially as I've grown up with several Munch pieces on the walls. I chose the work 'Dødskamp', which directly translates to 'Death Struggle' which speaks volumes for itself. It was an emotionally Heavy task, and also a completely New way to compose and execute [for us]. It created some very long, sleepless nights but in the end it was worth it. This is our soundtrack to the dilemma of mortality." "Dødskamp" will be issued on a limited edition 10" to commemorate the release. The 10" lp features "Dødskamp" on the "A" side, and a blistering live recording of 1349's "Atomic Chapel" on side B. The 10" is cut at 45 rpm, and will be limited to 1000 only (500 on gold vinyl, 500 on black vinyl. The vinyl will see release on Apr. 5 worldwide.
Tags: 1349