TidbitsFebruary 28, 2018 3:10 PM ET

Will Haven is streaming a second track from their new album.

Official press release: Sacramento-based mainstays of noise metal Will Haven recently announced their return, and are set to release their sixth full-length album and first for minus HEAD Records, entitled Muerte, out on March 23, 2018. Muerte is available for pre-order now via iTunes, Amazon and Bandcamp, with PledgeMusic bundles and Spotify streaming becoming available very soon. Today, the band is following up on the successful release of their first single - the six minute-plus epic, "El Sol," co-written and performed with guest guitarist Stephen Carpenter of Deftones. Will Haven have dropped a second offering, "Winds of Change" - a track that showcases a more familiar side of the band without sacrificing their new stylistic direction. The four-piece wastes no time in conjuring a sonic maelstrom on "Winds of Change," starting out in a frenzied fit of chaos and slowly cascading into a thumpy, droning, atmospheric down-spiral. Listen now via Metal Injection. Guitarist Jeff Irwin says about "Winds of Change": "This is probably my favorite song on the record. It was written somewhat early on and went through a lot of changes before we were ultimately happy with it. I envisioned something chaotic - that stress you might feel when you are about to die, and then I wanted the ending to be epic like you were floating away. So, capturing that emotion took some time but I think we did it. It was a lot of fun to make... this was a breakthrough song for us, as far as what we can possibly do with our music."
Subscribe to Lambgoat on