Home > Albums > View

Terror The Damned, The Shamed

Terror - The Damned, The Shamed
01. Voice of the Damned
02. Relentless Through and Through
03. Betrayer
04. Rise of the Poisoned Youth
05. Never Alone
06. What I Despise
07. Let Me Sink
08. Feel The Pain
09. Lost Our Minds
10. March to Redemption
11. Crush What's Weak
12. Still Believe?
13. Suffer To Return Harder
2008 Century Media Records

Reviewed by: Cory   //   Published: 7/7/2008

It's interesting to take a look at Terror outside of the context of the hardcore renaissance they helped bring to a head seven years ago. The scene was newly revived thanks to an infusion of new blood in the late 90's, bands were numerous and the overall output of a handful of scenes was nothing short of fantastic. Since then, things have died down considerably and most of those bands have gone by the wayside, but Terror is among the few bands that stand strong. Their consistency in the face of line-up and label changes can be credited to Scott Vogel and Nick Jett, the group's founding members and songwriters.

To many, The Damned, The Shamed may seem like just another Terror record, but to hardcore fans, those words have a different connotation: another Terror record is another set of songs to learn by heart, sing along and stage dive to. By those standards, this is another great Terror record. This time around, the hip-hop diversions have been traded in for a pair of Pantera-esque guitar portions in "Betrayer" and "March To Redemption" and a handful of competently executed solos sprinkled throughout the record. Lyrically, Vogel revisits familiar themes of betrayal, hate and "living for this shit." Returning producer Zeuss turns in another smart record that fits Terror like a glove without ever becoming flashy.

Bottom Line: There's a lot of baggage that comes along with a Terror record at this point, but the truth remains that Vogel and Co. are one of the premier hardcore acts performing today. The Damned, The Shamed is more proof that they're standing the test of time and holding true to their values even as hardcore's third heyday passes. I won't pretend that this disc is full of imaginative song structures or beautifully poetic lyrics, but it's hardcore through and through and that's what Terror has always stood for.

anonymous   posted 11/14/2012 9:42:18 PM
Terror are legends in hardcore in their own rite. I bet none of you even know who the f*ck Cro-Mags are.
ballsdeep417_   posted 4/29/2009 11:14:18 PM
f*ck you guys terror has been around forever and still earns respect. you go to a live terror show and tell me its not crazy, they got banned from here and ticketed for starting a riot in the venue. and they may be older but i gaurantee scott vogel would curbstomp all of you haters.
asaf_   posted 8/4/2008 10:26:54 PM
god damnit!_   posted 8/2/2008 3:34:27 PM
it just pisses me off that terror gets a 7 out of 10... and have heart got a shitty rating... why?.. because they actually tried to progress... as to where terror has been playing the same one way bullshit since they started... they arent the same because they want to stick to their "roots" they are the same because they mentally can't write anything else.
asshole_   posted 8/2/2008 8:01:09 AM
terror is a bunch of pedder ass old guys. next time you see the drummer ask him how it was f*cking a 15 year old girl next to a hot tub. and am i the only one that thinks terror is a bunch of mongoloids?

view all 40 comments