Home > Albums > View

Cattle Decapitation The Harvest Floor

Cattle Decapitation - The Harvest Floor
01. The Gardeners of Eden
02. A Body Farm
03. We Are Horrible People
04. Tooth Enamel and Concrete
05. The Ripe Beneath the Rind
06. The Product Alive
07. In Axestasy
08. Into the Public Bath
09. The Harvest Floor
10. Regret & the Grave
2009 Metal Blade Records

Reviewed by: Nick   //   Published: 1/22/2009

TO: Cattle Decapitation, Deathgrind Gurus

FROM: Nick, Lambgoat Reviewer

DATE: January 22, 2009

SUBJECT: Reimbursement Request for Damages Incurred Due to The Harvest Floor

I've recently conducted studies linking your latest record, The Harvest Floor, to numerous physical, material, and emotional damages incurred by myself upon listening.As one of the first highly anticipated releases of 2009, your record was a source of much excitement, but it has been undeniably detrimental to numerous aspects of my life.Please reimburse in full for the following expenses:

- Health Care, $150.67: Adding drummer David McGraw of Sleep Terror to the line-up has forced me to endure seemingly endless periods of emulating his immaculate fills and incredible double-bass work with my two forefingers on my desk during the work day.This has left my joints bruised and my ligaments strained -- I may never be able to pull off a 180 BPM forefinger double-bass roll with ease again.Yes, McGraw may be the perfect addition to the band, and he may be pushing Cattle Decapitation to even higher levels of greatness, but I still expect to be fully compensated for this atrocity.

- Steam and Dry Cleaning, $87.92: The utmost precision in bass and guitar work on The Harvest Floor has caused me to inadvertently spill beverages and food in my home on three (3) separate occasions out of excitement.Although the raw approach and grittiness of your band's earlier days was appreciated, your continued musical progression and increased technical precision puts you at the top of the genre without contest.The nimble fretwork in "In Axestasy," the smooth, bass-driven intro of "Regret & the Grave," and the combination of brutal death metal riffs and jarring rhythms in "The Ripe Beneath the Rind" are only a few of the many moments of distinction throughout the record.Can you really blame me for accidentally spilling that glass of grape juice all over my living room rugI didn't think so.

- General Emotional Damage, $500.00: When compared to Karma.Bloody.Karma, The Harvest Floor comes off as slightly more developed, with a focus on epic song swells.Take the opener, "The Gardeners of Eden," as an example.Its surprisingly strong attention to melody (after all, Cattle Decapitation records haven't necessarily been great sources of melody in the past) allows the track to flow and build toward a massive climax, proving that you're capable of displaying songwriting aspects other than mere technical prowess.And the haunting feel of the subdued title track, aided by the Jarboe's guest vocal spot, offers yet another example of your ability to concentrate on an album's mood, something that is definitely a rarity among other deathgrind acts.All of this -- the epic feel, the superb execution, the definitive mood -- has resulted in The Harvest Floor receiving an exorbitant amount of personal airplay in all situations including, but not limited to: meal preparation, evening car rides, and tranquil nights of love making.The resultMy girlfriend, despite already being surprisingly accepting of my metal addiction, has reached her limit and banished me to nights spent on the couch.I still have The Harvest Floor and the approval of smelly metalheads, but personal therapy sessions to rebuild my self-esteem don't come cheap these days.

In summary, your selfish act of delivering a worthy follow-up to Karma.Bloody.Karma by continuing to push the boundaries of death metal and grindcore has been an infliction upon my previously stable personal life.Please provide the appropriate reimbursement of $738.59 (USD) accordingly.

fudge_   posted 6/2/2009 1:42:07 AM
an amazing album. I have been listening to them since To Serve Man was released, and this has been my favorite so far...
However, this is the 3rd review that I have read talking about David McGraw on the album..he is their drummer but he is not on the album, it's Zach Ohren. Shit
uh yeah nope_   posted 2/13/2009 8:01:09 AM
i really didn't like this album much when i heard it. karma was wayyy better.
anonymous   posted 2/9/2009 2:26:19 PM
i saw the singer of this band do a huge line of coke off a boa constrictor and then sodomise a fat girl while eating a arbys beef and cheddar
anonymous   posted 2/5/2009 5:45:43 AM
on the first track in the background vocals, it sounds like hes going TRIIIIIIIIIICK OR TREEEEEEEEEEEEEEAT
shredlogic_   posted 1/29/2009 9:38:36 AM
at one point the vocals sound like shredder's mutant snapping turtle from Ninja Turtles 2

view all 63 comments