Home > Albums > View

Dew-Scented Issue VI

Dew-Scented - Issue VI
01. Processing Life
02. Rituals Of Time MP3
03. Turn To Ash
04. Ruins Of Hope
05. Out Of The Self
06. The Prison Of Reason
07. Bled Dry
08. In Defeat
09. Never To Return
10. Vortex
11. Conceptual End
12. Evil Dead
2005 Nuclear Blast Records

Reviewed by: Michael Gluck   //   Published: 10/24/2005

One of the most curiously-named and consistent old school thrash/death metal bands, Dew-Scented, have released their sixth album and its overall feel is just as satisfying and unanticipated as it was on their first two albums, Ill-Natured and Immortelle. With Issue VI, Dew-Scented should have just about recovered all of the diehard thrash fans abandoned by The Haunted on last year's disastrous Revolver, a textbook example of what happens when an established thrash band attempts to branch out and deliver a more digestible version to the masses. It was no surprise to me when they ended up on this year's Ozzfest, and thus their relinquishing of the thrash crown could see Dew-Scented sneak up and claim it as their own.

So long as Dew-Scented stay on the consistent track they started on nearly ten years ago, something they have shown no indication of abandoning on Issue VI, they could easily emerge from the massive international pool of thrash bands, young and veteran alike, churning out quality albums in hopes of being recognized as "essential" for U.S. metal circles and critics. Their reputation in Europe is already healthy, as are those of other bands who still remain virtually unknown in the U.S. Finally gaining prominence in the U.S. may finally be possible since Nuclear Blast clearly appears to be promoting Issue VI more than any previous record of theirs.

Dew-Scented are well known for getting down to business immediately by setting albums off with a meaty riff, and the way that "Processing Life" kicks in on Issue VI takes that approach one "Turn To Ash," "Ruins Of Hope," "In Defeat," and "The Prison Of Reason" rely on a mid-paced foundation for Florian Mueller and Hendrick Bacher's (yes, they're German) regimented and professional guitar work. But when "Bled Dry" kicks the listener in the face with an embellished Slayer riff, jump-started by one of Uwe Werning's trademark simple yet up-tempo fills, Dew-Scented make an impact on the listener that need not be dissected further.

The clarity and control they maintain throughout even the fastest material has dexterity written all over it. And to be honest, more than twenty years after the birth of thrash, there is no reason why more bands should not be this tight. Save for their debut album, even supposed torchbearers of the European thrash revival The Haunted have lost the aptitude to lay claim to powerful speed riffs as Dew-Scented still can, especially on tracks like "Processing Life," 'Out Of The Self," "Never To Return," and "Vortex." The album closer, "Evil Dead," is a one-minute Zeke cover song sounding very similar to the original except with Leif Jensen's unique, guttural screams; which incidentally are rawer than ever on Issue VI. Impressive yet fitting solos are properly worked into most of their songs, covering all of the bases needed to satisfy even the most discerning thrash fan.

Bottom Line: With every album, and for those smart enough to be following their career, Dew-Scented are one of the most reliable European thrash bands in action today, and with a U.S./Canadian tour on its way by the end of the year, Issue VI could be their breakout album. I have definitely not heard a rhythm section so airtight in any thrash band in recent years. So while my personal favorite of theirs remains 2002's Inwards, I am still impressed with how effective of an album Issue VI is. Definitely a band that more people should be noticing.

hbostonxcorec_   posted 11/3/2005 1:30:47 PM
^^^vox are br00tal and themore i listen to this the more i like it
Mike_   posted 11/1/2005 1:40:53 AM
The vocals are f*cking brutal!
hxcsucks_   posted 10/28/2005 2:40:05 PM
I bought this album and thought it sucked. I liked the music okay, but got boring after the 3rd song...it all sounds the same and the vocals are terrible!
hbostonxcorec_   posted 10/27/2005 11:54:51 PM
more people should be into this band...this isnt their best work but its still good. i like inwards the best followed by impact then this. but theyre pretty br00tal
JohnnyJohnny_   posted 10/27/2005 1:25:42 AM
I hear these guys are good but the track posted on here is pretty bad. The intro is very boring psuedo clever-ness and bad riffs. Once it picks up it gets a little better, but nothing extremely good. Its a shame too because they track apart from being mediocre song writing does show they are extremely talented musicians. Hmmph. Are there better songs?

view all 13 comments