Home > Albums > View

The Number Twelve Looks Like You Nuclear. Sad. Nuclear.

The Number Twelve Looks Like You - Nuclear. Sad. Nuclear.
01. The Devil's Dick Disaster
02. Texas Dolly
03. Clarissa Explains Cuntainment
04. Track Four
05. The Proud Parents Convention Held at the ER MP3
06. An Aptly Fictional Description
07. Like a Cat
08. Remembrance Dialogue
09. An Exercise in Self Portraiture: Go Shoot Yourself
10. Operating on a Re-Run Episode
11. Track Eleven
12. Category
2005 Eyeball Records


Reviewed by: Ash Levitt   //   Published: 8/24/2005

It is no surprise that, thus far, this group has been a love 'em or hate 'em band. Most of the comments I've heard about them favor the latter instead of the former. However, while I can't speak to their live performance, they do present a record that is solid enough to steer clear of the hate 'em side of things. At the same time, I can understand any general dislike expressed for this band because they are all over the place. Regardless, they are all over the place in a sort of good way.

It's difficult to even begin to describe their newest offering, Nuclear. Sad. Nuclear. Some moments sound like Man or Astro Man colliding with a more melodic version of the Locust. Other moments can be a little jazzy. There's harmonic power metal guitars that then lead into death growls, that progress into clean stretches of song. Some parts sound too close to Dillinger for comfort. Overall, however, I found myself thinking of the general sound as akin to many Level Plane styled screamo bands. In the same sense, many times I was reminded of Love Lost But Not Forgotten by the vocals overlaying the guitar and bass interplay. If you're confused right now, again I don't blame you and can understand why most listeners would hate the combination of the aforementioned styles. Nuclear. Sad. Nuclear. just needs to be listened to.

Though The Number Twelve Looks Like You somehow manages to pull this blending off well, it can, however, lead to problems at times. Many of the more metal natured riffs, or sometimes riffs in general, just sound like piecemeal riffs borrowed from other influences. Another aspect of this recording that detracts from the overall quality is the recording itself. The sound as a whole is very flat without a lot of power or fullness coming from the bass and guitars. This holds true for the drums as well, sounding like they're in another room. Better production coupled with more stringent filtering of musical ideas would surely create something greater on future releases.

Bottom Line: If you can get past the schizophrenic nature of this band, or the shortcomings of this record, you will probably find a lot in Nuclear. Sad. Nuclear. to make you return for repeated listens. However, if you are of the more traditional hardcore or metal school, then this is probably not for you.

RyanATF_   posted 1/30/2007 7:13:51 PM
What happened? A band that was decent w/ their first album churns out this piece of crap. Sounds like a bunch of emo kids screaming in a photo booth in the mall...
amanda_   posted 8/8/2006 10:49:47 PM
number 12 is my faveorite band. there sound is different and is amazing. the lyrics have thought. this cd is great.
michaelll! again!_   posted 4/20/2006 3:46:52 PM
Michaelll!_   posted 4/20/2006 3:42:28 PM


Rob_   posted 1/4/2006 1:11:40 PM
Anyone shit talking this band obviously has no musical credibilitly in the first place, and probobly thinks that Madball and blood for blood are the best bands in the world. With that said, f*ck you narrow minded hardcore gays. This band truly displays music talent in every way, break every mold thinkable, this CD is for people who truly appreciate muscianship, not 3 powerchord yell about street life gayry. Good day. any shit talkers? email me please.

view all 54 comments